Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

I wanted something a bit out of the ordinary for the cake choice at Ryan’s party.  I decided on these adorable ice cream cone cupcakes!  I followed the directions on the side of the ice cream cone box. 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare cake batter as directed on the box.  Yes, I said the box.  I take shortcuts whenever I can get them these days!  I then filled the cones up 3/4 way full.  I used the entire bowl of batter for  24 cones.  I made a box of chocolate and a box of funfetti.  I baked for about 25 minutes.  I let the cones completely cool and then iced with white and fudge icing.  Since I was only doing cupcakes with no actual ice cream, I decided to give options so we had chocolate cake with fudge icing, chocolate cake with white icing, funfetti cake with fudge icing and funfetti cake with white icing.  I used a gallon ziploc back with 2 containers of each flavor of store bought frosting.  Yes, I said store bought.  I inserted a large icing tip in the bag, clipped the corner, filled with icing and piped onto the cupcakes in two layers so it would stack up and look like ice cream.  Topped with sprinkles, I think they looked pretty darn cute!  Not to mention tasty.

*These are not something you can make the day ahead.  The cones get soggy and the tops of the cones bend over from the weight of the cake and icing.
Photobucket

Linked Up on {Show and Tell Linking Party} at Blue Cricket Designs and {Cast Party Wednesday Link Party}at Lady Behind the Curtain and {Linking Party} at Passionately Artistic and {Get Your Craft On} at Today’s Creative BlogTidy Mom