Corn & Black Bean Salsa

Photobucket

I can never get enough salsa! This particular salsa is my absolute favorite non-tomato based choice, hands down! It super simple to make, can be left out all day on a picnic table or at the lake.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 large green bell pepper
  • 1/2 large red bell pepper
  • 1 medium red onion
  • 6 tablespoons fresh cilantro
  • 1 large lime
  • 1 can low sodium black beans
  • 1 can sweet corn*
  • salt/pepper

Using a small chopper or by hand, finely chop the bell peppers and onion, and add to bowl.  I love  using my mini-chopper because it never fails a kid starts screaming for me the minute I get my hands all full of onion! 

Mince cilantro so that once it is all chopped you have about 6 tablespoons.  Add to bowl.  (I probably use way more than 6 tablespoons because I LOVE me some Cilantro!)  Drain and rinse the black beans and corn and add to bowl.  Gently roll the lime on your cutting board to “get the juices flowing” as Rachael Ray would say and slice and juice the entire lime over the mixture.  Add Salt & Pepper to taste. 

I choose to use lower sodium beans because then it is my choice on how much salt to add versus the can already making that decision for me.  Also if it is summertime and sweet corn is in season, by all means use fresh!  Boil as normal or cook on the grill and then add kernels of about 3-4 ears, in place of the can. 

Serve with tortilla chips and you have a fantastic fresh salsa! 

Enjoy!
Send Off Orange

Linked Up at:
Tip Junkie handmade projects

Tidy Mom

