Chicken & Peach Summer Salad –Super Fast!

I will just start with a small disclaimer:  I am not a good food photographer…yet.  I will work on this!  The photos do not do the salad justice!  While I work on my food photog stills, you should definitely think about making this delicious salad!

This recipe is great for those left over chicken breasts you made from another meal and to utilize some delicious summer peaches in a recipe that is not for a dessert!

I am big on cooking enough meat once, to be used for two meals.  It also helps when I happen to have bought some humungo-gynormous chicken breasts.  I made some teriyaki marinated chicken breasts the other night and since they were so humungo-gynormous (yes that is a real word!)  I had enough for a second night’s meal.  If you don’t have any humungo-gynormous chicken breasts (I first typed that sentence without the word chicken — haha!) then you can grill up some regular sized ones or use the already made for you rotiserrie chicken from the store!  I heart those delicious time-saving perfectly browned birds! 

All you need is:

  • Peaches, thinly sliced.  About half a peach per serving
  • Chicken Breasts (about half a breast per serving)
  • 1 bag of Mixed Greens of your choosing (I like ones with spinach)
  • 1/4 of a red onion, thinly sliced
  • sliced almonds
  • light balsamic vinaigrette*

Fill your bowl or platter with the bag of greens.  Top with chunks or slices of your chicken, sliced peaches, onions and almonds.  Add dressing when served otherwise your almonds might get soggy. 

The sweetness of the peaches with the tartness of the vinaigrette is perfectly complementing!  I have to say the teriyaki glaze on the chicken this time also added a great flavor layer.  I am not big on raw onions but the sweetness of the red onion works well here and the almonds add a perfect bit of crunch!

*If you are feeling fancy try this AWESOME Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette on this salad!  I could put cilantro in everything…like seriously…everything!

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon spicy mustard
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Combine the cilantro, mustard and lime juice in bowl and wisk the mixture while slowly adding the olive oil to create a combined dressing. Wisking is important otherwise you will have a layer of lime juice/cilantro/mustard and a layer of oil! 

Enjoy!
Photobucket

Linked Up at  {Cast Party Wednesday} on Lady Behind The Curtain

2 thoughts on “Chicken & Peach Summer Salad –Super Fast!

  1. Thanks for linking up your recipe at Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you come back tomorrow and share some more of your awesome recipes!
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

Thanks for reading what {Che} said! Now tell me what {You} would like to say! I appreciate your comments and read each and every one of them! These *might* be the highlight in my day!

