Pinwheels Spinwheels

I wanted a fun element to the add to the kids lunch pails for Ryan’s first birthday party and found this tutorial from Martha.  It’s super cute and I followed the pattern she has laid out, however she uses clothes pins in this tutorial and map pins.  Since I had kiddos of all ages, two of them just having turned one, I didn’t want pins anywhere near them so I made some small modifications.

Items Needed:

  • 2 different patterns or colors of paper
  • hole punch
  • ruler
  • pencil
  • scissors
  • brads
  • large craft sticks (tongue depressors)
  • tape or clear reinforcements

First I followed Martha’s instructions and cut two 5″ x 5″ squares from my paper and glued them together with a glue stick, pretty sides facing outwards.  I drew a line from each corner to the opposite side resulting in a giant X.  I measured 3″ from each corner towards the center and then cut along that 3″ mark.  Because I was not using the pins, I hole punched every other point and reinforced with clear tape.  I also punched a hole in the center of the X.  This one did not need reinforcing because it was in the center. 

Freddy drilled holes in the craft sticks for me.  It is recommended to drill a small pilot hole first and then widen to fit the brad to avoid cracking the craft sticks. 

Gather all corners with the holes punched and align with the center hole and push the brad through.  Add the craft stick behind the pinwheel and push the brad through the hole in the craft stick.  Bend the brad prongs outwards to hold the pinwheel on the craft stick. 
Photobucket

One thought on “Pinwheels Spinwheels

  1. Pingback: Teddy Bear Picnic Birthday Party |

Thanks for reading what {Che} said! Now tell me what {You} would like to say! I appreciate your comments and read each and every one of them! These *might* be the highlight in my day!

