A New Start

My family recently moved from the Arctic Tundra that is Minnesota, to what we Northerners refer to as “The South”.  Not really the actual south , but from what we were coming from, the name suits just fine.  We moved to Joplin, MO.  That’s south, right?

My husband is also a Chemical Engineer (gah, I know!) and after being laid-off in the awesome recession of 2009, he found a new job.  Yay!  Although it was two hours from our house.  Boo!  He took the job anyway and lived in another city during the week and came home on the weekends.  At the time we only had our oldest son Michael, the house, and the two dogs.  Next I was pregnant!  Yay!  He still lived away.  Boo!  I had a full-time job in which I had an hour commute each way.  So now I am a pregnant, single mom of a toddler, with two dogs, a two-hour commute and a house to take care of.  I was tired to say the least.  Then Ryan was born!  Yay!  Freddy still worked away.  Boo!  I went back to work after my 12 weeks of maternity leave and was doing all of the above along with getting up every 3 hours for feedings.  Now I was really tired.  Something had to change. 

Freddy interviewed and was offered a position in Joplin, MO for a job which he was pretty excited about.  Yay!  He moved to Joplin towards the end of January and I was left to sell the house.  Boo!  I quit my job to gain a small ounce of sanity.  Luckily the house sold in exactly one month.  Yay!  (I don’t really have a Boo to this one except that we had to move and I DESPISE moving like kids at fat camp despise salad!)

So here we are.  A new start!  Freddy comes home each night after work and we eat dinner together!  Michael had been so used to him not being home that he still asks me, “Is Daddy coming home tonight?”  He then remembers and laughs at his silliness!  I am staying home for now with the boys until we get settled and  am experiencing a bit of movers remorse.  I am NOT missing the subzero temperatures and miles of snow, but I AM missing my friends, familiarity, my routines, my sense of direction and most of all CARPET!  We will get to that later!  So here comes this blog.  I am hoping to be able to share my photos, DIY projects, creative ideas, recipes and silly stories about my adorable boys.  My kids don’t hold much of a conversation outside of SpongeBob, Play-doh and matchbox cars, and my husband does the “uh huh” while watching basketball.  This will let me get everything out of my head in what seems to be a productive way.  Thanks for reading!

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “A New Start

  1. I am happy as can be that you started this! Carrie has hers, as you know, and it cracks me up every time. Love this as a way to stay in touch with YOU!!

Thanks for reading what {Che} said! Now tell me what {You} would like to say! I appreciate your comments and read each and every one of them! These *might* be the highlight in my day!

